The International Baccalaureate (IB) is a comprehensive two-year curriculum for highly motivated secondary school pupils. It prepares them for future university studies and allows them to access leading Brazilian and overseas universities. The Diploma Programme prepares pupils for university by encouraging them to ask challenging questions, learn how to learn, develop a strong sense of their own identity and culture, and develop the ability to communicate with and understand people from other countries and cultures.

The IB curriculum is divided into six subject groups and three core components. Pupils must study 3 subjects at a Higher Level (HL) and 3 subjects at a Standard Level (SL). The HL and SL are part of the IB programme’s ethos of both breadth and depth in the curriculum. At St. Francis College we offer a wide variety of options and we help the pupils build their IB experience by taking into account their interests, skills and university aspirations. Balance is also achieved by allowing the pupils to choose subjects from at least five of the six subject groups. Pupils must choose a subject from each of the following:

  • Group 1 - Studies of Language and Literature.
    (English, Portuguese, Japanese, Spanish and Korean)
  • Group 2 - Language acquisition.
    (English B, Portuguese B, Spanish B, French B)
  • Group 3 - Individuals and Societies.
    (Brazilian Social Studies, Business Management, Economics, Geography, History)
  • Group 4 - Sciences.
    (Biology, Chemistry, Physics)
  • Group 5 - Mathematics.
    (Mathematical Studies, Mathematics SL, Mathematics HL)
  • .For their sixth subject, pupils can choose a second subject from groups 2 to 4 or may choose a group 6 subject:
  • Group 6 - The Arts.
    (Music, Theatre, Visual Arts).

Parents and pupils can find more information about their current options in Managebac.

Parents can refer to the IB Diploma Handbook where further information can be found.

Read about the IB Options 2018-2020.